Like a Grammar Nazi

You’ve got to be kidding me.

So in English class, we were studying adverbs and well, I just don’t know what to say. My classmate raised her hand and asked my teacher, “So, Teacher, pen is an adverb?” The whole class burst in a fit of giggles, except for maybe me. I guess it’s not normal for me to not laugh, but really?

Pen? An adverb?

And later, in Social Studies, that very same classmate asked, “So did the Americans teach English or did they teach with English?” I don’t have anything against her, but well, can you learn English with your teacher speaking some other language?

I sure can’t. I guess I’m practically living proof that you can’t learn a language if your teacher is speaking another. I’ve been studying Chinese for several years and I still can’t compose anything without turning to Google Translate for help. Yay, me.

Oh yeah, it’s dictionary day today! I nearly forgot.

The first English dictionary was written in 1755. The longest word without an e is floccinaucinihilipilification. The only word that has a, b, c, d, e, and f in it is feedback. The only word that ends in mt is dreamt.

At this rate, I think I’ll end up majoring in English. Why not? It sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

