Miracles

“The only difference between a wish and a prayer is that you’re at the mercy of the universe for the first, and you’ve got some help with the second.”

Sing You Home (Jodi Picoult)

Yesterday was our dance competition. They called it an exhibition, but all the students knew it wasn’t JUST an exhibition. It was a contest. There were awards but it just so happened that some awards were better than the others.

Anyway, we’d spent the past few months preparing our routines. It took so long, even though the actual thing was only four minutes and two seconds. We needed to master it, but there were some who… well.

Needless to say, I was one of those naturally gifted with the weak side of the so-called dancing talent. Oh, who am I kidding. My inability to dance hasn’t changed in the span of twenty-four hours.

So I prayed for a miracle.

Guess what? We won. “Most Outstanding Performance” was dubbed best award by the students. And we won that, as well as “Best T-Shirt Design.” 

At lunch, there was a fifth-grader who came up to me. She held a violet hairclip in her hand, adorned with a gold ribbon. “This is for me?” I asked. She nodded, and I smiled. “Thanks!” When she left, I clipped the thing to my hair. 

When I got home, I immediately went on the internet (like I always do) even though I was dead tired. I wanted to see what people said about my class. My facebook homepage was filled with good things and I was so glad that no fight started. Then I heard about some fight on twitter.

This is why I don’t CHECK my twitter. It’s not because twitter is boring or mainstream or whatever. It has less to do with the fact that I don’t want to get into a fight with anyone than the fact that I don’t want to KNOW about a fight anyone had with anyone. Can’t people just accept whatever they got without bashing the winners? 

Moving on. A few hours into my internet marathon (a week is a long time to wait to use the internet) I received a friend request from someone who bullied me a long long long time ago. I got over it already but it was nice to get a friend request from her on facebook, even after all this time.

Four miracles. In one day. And I asked for only one. See, miracles do exist, but it’s up to you to make them happen.

Image

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Miracles

Leave a Reply

