Two Books and One Series

Okay, so I think it’s obvious. I like to read a lot. If I were stranded in some deserted island and I was only allowed to bring one book, I wouldn’t be able to choose. There are too many books out there that have made their way into my heart. But only a few have completely touched my soul.

1. Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult

Although the thing this book taught most people is what it’s like to be gay in 2011, Sing You Home taught me the true meaning of being Catholic. Raised around the religion, I was taught to pray and to read the Bible and to love God. In fact, three times a week, I’m still taught those things. But after reading the book, I realized that being a Catholic is more than just loving God. It’s about loving your fellowmen, too, and respecting the fact that they’re all different people with different beliefs and different stories.

2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Bullying. The word leaves a metallic taste on my tongue each time I say it. I’ve always been a target for bullies. My earliest memory of being bullied was when I was around eight and I got into a fistfight with my classmate. Imagine; we were second grade! Ever since then, I’ve been bullied for many reasons, but the main reason? I’ve always been different. I’ve never really fitted in, and no matter how close I have been to fitting in, there has always been this microscopic gap, one which will always be left unfilled. So when I read Thirteen Reasons Why, I found myself nodding along. This book was written by an author who took his stand against bullying in a way that didn’t involve just saying, “I’m against bullying.” This book was written by an author with a gift for making people listen.

3.  A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

I know that this is a series of thirteen books. But I’ve always had a soft spot for this series. I don’t quite know why.

2 thoughts on “Two Books and One Series

    • I got into Snicket’s books in fifth grade, when I was really sick of the other books in the grade school library. A huge portion of them were apparently meant for the little kids. Guess I’ll Google your series pick! I don’t have plenty of interesting books at home because I got tired of some of them before I even got the chance to read them.

Leave a Reply

