Every Day (David Levithan)

I’ve heard quite a lot about Every Day and I’ll get right down to it: it was actually pretty good. The cover was a great plus and was really appealing to me, as I’m sure it was to other readers.

Every Day is about A, a person – who is not really a person, but you’ll see – who wakes up in a different body, in a different life every single day. But after A wakes up in the body of Justin, the boyfriend of a girl named Rhiannon, his whole “life” turns upside-down. In the course of a single day, he finds himself falling more and more in love with Rhiannon. But here’s the thing: he knows that tomorrow, he won’t be Justin. And that’s true. The next day, he wakes up in the body of someone else – but nothing’s changed. He soon realizes that no matter which person he wakes up as, he’s still in love with her.

Poor A.

I really liked Every Day because it was an easy read: it didn’t have words and sentences that made me trip over them (unlike Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, but that’s a book for another day, isn’t it?) I found the plot intriguing, yet Levithan told the story in a way that made the story seem simple but at the same time so complicated.

I applaud him for that. Clap, clap, clap. Okay, moving on.

There were a few things that bothered me, though. The first one doesn’t need much saying: A’s stalkerish, disruptive, selfish behavior. He borrows the lives of others, and what does he do with them? A small hint: he skips. Class, tests, important family trips. Things that would actually be really important to the people whom he borrows a day from. When you look at it though, he doesn’t even borrow anymore: he steals. He uses those “borrowed” 24 hours for his own… interest: namely, Rhiannon. That sounds more like being selfish than being in love.

How strange it must have been for Rhiannon, to have some guy who isn’t even really a guy following her around, arranging meet-ups with her, et cetera. And here’s one more thing I don’t understand: she’s in love with A when he’s a he. But when he’s a she, that’s a whole different story. So it’s completely okay for Rhiannon to love A when he’s in a dude’s body, but when he’s in a girl’s body, Rhiannon can’t love him. What I don’t get about this is why A expects Rhiannon to always adjust, to always love him despite what’s on the surface. As much as I love the message this sends out, it seems really… unrealistic. Rhiannon is human, with her own preferences, and for her, all of that (hey-the-guy-I-love-is-sometimes-a-guy-but-also-sometimes-a-girl) must have been very confusing. Goodness knows I’m pretty confused too.

Poor Rhiannon.

Despite those things, I loved Every Day. This is the first time I’ve ever read Levithan (oh, where have I been living? Under a rock?) but I don’t imagine that this will be the last.

Leave a Reply

