Daily Prompt: Stranger

For the Daily Prompt from three days ago.

It wasn’t so much of an encounter, actually. It was more like an observation. I was in a Japanese restaurant yesterday with my aunts and cousins. It was a small place, roughly the size of my living room. We had just finished playing golf and we were hungry, so we headed there.

While we were eating, this man came and started complaining about how the food was “two times smaller than it was last time!” He had an American accent, so I glanced at him. He was stocky, with stubble on his chin. He was probably in his mid-twenties. And yes, he did look American. What was he doing here? Really.  He smiled at me, as if what he was doing was funny.

Either that or he smiled at me because he was a creep. You can take your pick, but just to be sure, I’d take the latter. I shook my head in disgust and went back to my sukiyaki. It did demand my full attention, after all. I mixed it, searching for the noodles because they were my favorite.

Anyway, the man kept on complaining. Maybe I should have ignored him, but it was too hard. He was making a scene, kind of like a toddler wailing in McDonald’s.

“Seriously! That’s not cool, man, that’s not cool!” he kept going. The waitress didn’t say anything. I guess she was just being polite, but if I were her, I would have slapped him. Then thank God, he finally left, promising to see them on Sunday.

My aunt took a break from playing Candy Crush Saga on her iPhone and turned to the waitresses and the waiters. At that moment, she could have read my mind. “If it were me, I would have slapped him,” she said. 

Put in that situation, who wouldn’t have?

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Stranger

  1. Pingback: Mall:Identity Crisis , a daily prompt. | Yeahthtsme

  2. Pingback: Flying On Empty Thoughts | Mall:Identity Crisis , a daily prompt.

Leave a comment